ASF is governed by a 15-member Board of Trustees elected by members of The American School Foundation. Members are elected for three-year terms and may be reelected for subsequent three-year terms.
The Board of Trustees holds the school in trust and is responsible for ensuring that the school continues to fulfill the mission adopted by the Board. Through its standing committees, the Board develops and oversees the school's strategic plan, maintains the financial health of the institution, seeks current and long-term philanthropic support, ensures that the physical campus is adequate to support the mission, monitors the progress and success of the educational program and sees to it that the Board follows accepted best practices of non-profit institutional governance.
Ten of the members must be U.S. citizens. The majority of current members are parents of students enrolled in ASF. Others are parents of former students and still others are alumni or friends of the school.


Board of Trustees 2018-19

Thurston Hamer ('81) - Chair
John Santa Maria Otazúa ('75) - First Vice Chair
Leonardo Franco Schlesinger - Second Vice Chair
Mark McCoy MacDonald ('89)- Treasurer
Rosa Luisa Marentes de Pisinger ('87) - Secretary
Cesar Buenrostro Moreno ('85)
Thomas R. Favret
Ernesto González Garfias
Patricio Gutiérrez Tommasi
G. Troy Hatch
Andrea Hernández Velasco
Carl E. Koller Lucio ('88)
María Novales-Flamarique
Juan Francisco Serrano Kacz ('79)
Frances Elizabeth Ward Patton de Huttanus
Click here to read about the Board of trustees members


Executive Director

Mark Iver Sylte

Click here to see the Executive Director's minibio


Heads of School

From left to right: Chad Schwaberow, Head of Upper School; Jordan Maas, Head of Lower School; Erin Trautman, Head of the Early Childhood Center; Mark Iver Sylte, Executive Director; Diego Zaragoza, Director of Academic Affairs; Robert Lewis, Head of Middle School; Robert Wilson, Head of Athletics & Extended Learning.

Click here to see the Heads of School's Minibios


Upper row, from left to right: Javier Landeros, Director of Information Technology; Homero Figueroa, Director of Finance; Mark Iver Sylte, Executive Director; Diego Zaragoza, Director of Academic Affairs.

Lower row, from left to right: Patricia Martin de Hubp, Director of Admission and Financial Aid; Cecilia Cepeda, Head of Institutional Advancement; Violeta Ayala, Director of Communications; Elisa Penela, Director of Human Capital.

Click here to see the Directors' Minibios